Dear readers,

As you may have already noticed from the anecdotes and descriptions that have begun to seep into my posts, I have moved on from wonderful Montreal, east, to fair Halifax on Canada’s Atlantic coast.

Indeed, Halifax is a much smaller city than I’m used to. I have only lived in Toronto and Montreal, urban regions of 5.1 and 3.6 million people respectively. The Halifax Regional Municipality, by contrast, has a population of just over 350 000 people. I expected that such a small city would inevitably lack qualities I have come to associate with the term “urban” — I used to refer to Halifax as “a small town masquerading as a big city”: sort of an everybody-knows-each-other but there-are-tall-buildings kind of thing. How wrong I was. Despite its much smaller population, Halifax has taught me that a city is a city is a city- and that a bare minimum of characteristics cause behaviour that is most definitely urban. But more on this in an upcoming post.

For now, I’d like to take the opportunity to update the blog’s banner. The now defunct banner, shown below, was a combination of the Toronto and Montreal skylines (thought I chose to not include Mont Royal, which made it difficult to tell it was Montreal).

With a new East coast urban-base in Halifax, that yours truly, Urban Geographer Dan, has made his home for the summer, I’d like to introduce the new banner, which features, centrally, Halifax, citadel and all:

I have also taken this opportunity to change the blog’s logo, from “some observations from a lover of cities” to “let’s read the city, together ! ” to reflect what I continue to learn to be my orientation to urbanism.

Enjoy.

