I’d like to acknowledge what I’ve come to realize as something I’ve been doing for many years now, and announce the future of my ideas.

Phenomenology is the philosophy of interrogating various phenomena in life through the way we experience them. It serves as an opportunity to go further than other, more rigid schools of thought, notably modern science, that tend to take for granted our structures of knowledge and treat what we know as objective. Studying urban geography, architecture, and urban planning has lead to some frustrating instances where I’ve found myself fed up with those claiming to know exactly the way things work (see: the history of Western urban planning). Phenomenology doesn’t pretend to be explanatory: rather, looking at the basic experiences of our lives provides a productive and enriching way to view the world.

A life project of urban phenomenology will be my attempt to apply the tenants of this philosophy to the urban phenomena I observe and experience daily. I am currently reading many phenomenologists, and am excited to apply these ideas to urban phenomena I find in need of explanation. I am by no means an expert, and I have no desire to do this in formal academic channels, so the disclaimer is I may be completely misguided in my attempts, but in all honesty, who cares. But then again, please help me if I seem to be going off track…even if you don’t know what phenomenology is. The main goal is to re-approach the way cities work, in order to get to what could be a deeply satisfying way of viewing the world, and maybe some ideas that could be applied to my potential future life in the world of urban design.

The point of this blog is to get my ideas down with less of a concern for the way they “sound”, or a deep scrutiny of poor grammar or word choices. In this sense, I am excited to carry out some fun, thought provoking and messy urban phenomenology.

Another note is that this post has no influence on past or future posts; what I have written, and am going to write may or may not be phenemenological, but again, who cares. As I read more phenemonologists, I am eager to see where my ideas go.

